Parachute’s work in everything from concussion recognition and management to road safety has been recognized for its excellence and effectiveness by the following organizations and awards.

Canadian Association of Road Safety Professionals (CARSP)

  • Mavis Johnson Traffic Safety Award for Best Policy Brief and Submission (on awareness campaigns related to cannabis and driving), Vice-President Communications and Marketing Kelley Teahen and Manager, Knowledge Translation and Programs Claire Westmacott, 2023.
  • Charles H. Miller Award, Best Research and Evaluation Paper (on the Cost of Injury in Canada 2021), Director of Knowledge Translation Stephanie Cowle, 2022

Canadian Sports Hall of Fame

  • Parachute co-founder Dr. Charles Tator, one of five inductees for his “profound impact on the world’s understanding of concussion,” 2017

International Association of Business Communicators

International Safety Media Awards

Presented at the biennial World Safety Conference, the international awards, dubbed the “Safety Oscars”, honour the best in safety campaigns from around the world. Nine Parachute campaigns from 2018 to 2021 were recognized at the 2022 awards ceremony.

In addition, in 2016, Parachute won a “safety Oscar” video award for #Safe4Life workplace safety for young workers, created by Influencer Mike Rizzi.

Ministry of Transportation Ontario

The Ministry of Transportation Ontario’s annual Road Safety Achievement Awards recognize the outstanding contributions of individuals, groups, and organizations.

  • Road Safety Professional of the Year, Director of Programs Valerie Smith, 2022

Pink Concussions

Pink Concussions is an international non-profit organization focused on pre-injury education and post-injury medical care for women and girls with brain injury including concussion incurred from sport, violence, accidents or military service. 

  • PINK Concussions Award Provincial for Rowan’s Law advocacy, President and CEO Pamela Fuselli, 2019